devpapa

2022 - A Wrap Up

2022

2022 has been a good year. I watched 8 movies this year. Everything Everywhere All At Once, was by far the most interesting. I didn't read much this year and was quite picky about podcast episodes I listened to.

Things picked up in the later part of the year. At the start of the year I wanted to do a lot of things. This year I started a newsletter but gave that up. I started blogging a bit more but was not consistent and gave that up too. I wanted to code more, and I did code more but not as much or as consistent as I imagined I would be.

I learned not to compare myself with what's popular. What works for most people may not work for me. I also learned that consistency does not only mean not missing a single day, it also means doing something regularly.

2023

For the coming year I have a plan for January and February. In Jan, I want to revisit a JavaScript Course I bought some years ago and go through the basics again. In Feb, I will be creating a 24 days of code thing in the spirit of JavaScriptmas. It's not fully fleshed out but will be ready on time.

I want to work on my personal site next year. It's currently an 11ty site but I may want something less troublesome to upgrade and maintain. Something that removes as much friction as possible from my ability to post from almost anywhere. So that will be fun to figure out.

I also want to try this YouTube thing. I may record myself doing the exercises in Feb or I may not, we'll see how that goes. But YouTube is something I will be thinking a lot about in the coming year.

2023 for me will be a year of making. I have learned enough, it's time to make stuff and put it out.

That's it. Happy Christmas, and New Year.

#2022 #2023