devpapa

Feed Reader-Only Blog

This reminds me of the time I mused about setting up a site that was only an RSS feed. No web pages beyond the bare minimum needed for feed discovery, or maybe a splash to let people know what’s going on. The idea never came to anything, but maybe…?

This is a crazy idea but also an interesting one.

Some authors don't write on their websites, only on newsletters, like on Substack or Buttondown. But newsletters have archive pages that you can link to. This, is different.

There is no page to archive, no list of posts or publications, just a homepage linking to the feed where content lives. That's it! The only way you access the content is through a feed reader that does previews. My beloved Vore which only does link titles, won't work here.

OpenWeb Hostile

I understand this falls under experimentation but it's kind of dangerous. The idea of the web is pages linking to other pages, this is not that and I dare say at it's present state, it's OpenWeb hostile.

That said, I believe the web is for experimentation. When we move beyond the edges of the known web, we discover new frontiers with new opportunities.