devpapa

Focus

The difference between the greats and the legends is their ability to focus for longer periods of time. - Jordan Burroughs

I've been thinking a lot about focus lately. For me focus is the ability to choose one thing and go as deep as is possible on that one thing to the exclusion of all others.

My mind fights it because I love many things, and choosing means giving up, so it's this struggle between settling and sampling many other things.

There are many examples of focus in life. We usually settle on one person for companionship to the exclusion of others. In the past our parents had one job for life and that's what they did. Their jobs defined them. The Smith, the Plumber, the Electrician, or Mathematician or Dancer. One thing they did everyday for years and become masters at it.

Whenever I hear a great artistic expression, be it a painting or a piece of music, the enjoyment of it comes with the realisation that this person has given time and dedication to doing this one thing over and over and have improved it to the point that they can draw out emotions from it and cause me to enjoy their work. It feels like I am enjoying cheaply their labours and sacrifice.

I know of a man whose life mission and direction has been shaped by one book. One book he read as a young man made him go YES! This is it! And he has patterned his life after the spirit of that one book. He is a global figure though not popular the way Donald Trump is popular. I see that and it's a powerful thing.

I believe that the extent of our influence and impact lies here, in focus. The focus of our lives and our work. The dedication to one thing to the painful exclusion of others, will overtime deliver the most impact than anything else we can do.