devpapa

Leaving Simplenote

This is a difficult one to write. I have used Simplenote for a long time now. I love that it's well, simple. I have the app on my phone and I use the web version on desktop. However lately I've been having issues.

My lifestyle change has necessitated that I move away from Windows to Debian Linux. Because of this I'm re-thinking my software use. Simplenote for Linux does not work AFAIK. I have tried, after signing in, you are faced with a blank white page. Ok so the app does not work on Linux, how about the web? Nope.

I have no idea what is going on. I doesn't matter what browser I'm using it just doesn't work. Fine. So Linux is not a first class citizen but the final straw was when it stopped working on my work computer, a Windows 11 computer. I sign in, prove I'm not a robot and nothing. Blank white screen. Brave is like this, Chrome is like this. I can't live like this, it was the final straw.

Thankfully I have a standardnotes account, which for me is a sibling app. I have exported all my notes from simplenote and imported them to standardnotes. I have installed the app on my phone and guess what? It works on the web. Imagine that!

So long Simplenote. Thank you. When you worked, you worked well, but it's time.

#simplenote #standardnotes