devpapa

Moving Away from Twitter

Marco Rogers writes, in It's time to divest from Twitter:

Okay, it's time to divest from Twitter. I haven't been on the platform for months. But my account is still there, and I want to wind it down responsibly. I'm going to spend today thinking through what that entails for me personally. I'm open to hearing other people's thoughts.

These days I'm on Threads and Mastodon. I've not tweeted or retweeted in a very long time.

Concerning divesting from Twitter, the first step I think is to get all your content out, if you can, then delete everything - tweets, pictures, profile picture, description, etc.

Whether you delete your account or keep it, consider your account basically gone to the recyclers. I vaguely remember seeing a rule where you have to tweet or have your account reclaimed. It really is a lawless hell hole down there and anyone can claim your account if they want to.

What I don't understand is why people stick around there. I hear things like the engagement is great, all the people I follow is there, tech twitter bla bla blah. Seriously? Get off!

I'm off, now what?

Find a domain name, host a blog, write on your blog, publish an RSS feed. Seriously, that's the best thing. Yes, I know, I'm writing this on bearblog and not my website but you can do that too.

The next best thing is to join a federated network like Mastodon, if you want a more social experience.

#mastodon #twitter